top of page
Search
  • Lydia

The Supreme Authority

One day at the end of last year, my family decided to take a hike. We packed some water bottles and snacks, got the dog, hopped in the car, and drove to the site. However, soon after we got there, as we were preparing to set off on the trail, a police car drove up. Two officers got out. One of them took my dad to one side while the other stayed with my mom, my sisters, and me. Later, Dad recounted his conversation with the first policeman.

They started out with a few polite questions. The officer asked where Dad was from and why he'd come to Peru, to which Dad responded that he was from the U.S., but was now a pastor in Peru. Then the policeman got to the point.

“You're not allowed to be here, sir,” he said.

“Why not?” my dad asked.

“Well, we've had some problems with others who've come. They've used the irrigation ditches nearby incorrectly, for one thing.”

“My family just wants to take a hike.”

“Still, sir. I'm afraid I'm going to have to take you to the station.”

Dad was shocked. “But, we weren't doing anything.”

“I know, but you're not supposed to be here.”

The officer thought for a moment, then said, “Look, I'll let you go, but what'll you do for me if I do?”

When the rest of the family heard that he'd asked that, we burst out laughing. We'd heard of policemen asking for bribes before, but it had never happened to us. I'm sure it wasn't funny in the moment, though.

“I'll leave,” Dad answered. “You won't have to take me to the station.”

Apparently, the officer didn't think that was good enough. “Well, see, I need a new battery for my car –”

Dad cut him off. “No, sir. I will leave, but I won't do anything else.”

Finally, the policeman accepted this response. He let us go, and we found somewhere else to hike.


~*~


Notice how, in this story, the officer, even after Dad had told him he was a pastor, still asked for a bribe. Dad was supposedly a Christian, but to the policeman that made no difference. He expected Dad to be ready to do anything to get out of trouble. This brings up two important points:

How should we act when 1) those in authority are doing wrong and 2) we are expected to sin?

In Matthew 22, Jesus talks about giving back to Caesar what is Caesar's, or respecting his authority. However, right after that, Jesus says “and to God what is God's.” Above everyone else, we should respect God. He is the one who gives people authority, therefore He is the ultimate authority. Even when government officials or other people over us are doing wrong, we should obey God because we answer to Him, over all else.

Now for point two. Matthew 5:16 says, “Let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” Jesus doesn't say “Let your light shine when people expect it to” or “when everyone else's light shines.” He just says to do it. We're expected to sin because it's what people do; but we aren't normal people. We're Christians, God's children, and even though it is easier to live up to the world's expectations, we're focused on what the Lord wants.

Pray that God would help you to be an example for Him in a world of sinners.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page